Copyright FAQ and PolicyNetbooks
Direct Access Program FAQs
Use of Library During Off HoursVisitors
This is the "Reference" page of the "Library FAQs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library FAQs  

Have a question about the Standish Library? Explore this guide for answers to frequently asked questions.
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2014 URL: http://siena.libguides.com/FAQs Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What hours is the Reference Desk staffed?

When classes are in session, the Library's Reference Desk hours are:

Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

 When classes are not in session, ask at the Cushing Circulation Center for a Reference Librarian.

 

How do I find books on a topic?

Use the link to CYRIL, the computerized library catalog, on the Library's Web Page. Use the tabs to find a book by title, subject or author. If you do not find what you are looking for in CYRIL, or the title you want is unavailable, click on the ConnectNY link to search over a dozen libraries with 5.5 million items obtainable with speedy devivery. Ask a Reference Librarian for assistance.

 

How do I find articles on a topic?

Use one of the online databases on the library's Research Databases page. The multidisciplinary databases such as  ProQuest Central, and EBSCO Omnifile are good places to start. Ask a Reference Librarian for assistance.

 

How do I find a book review on this book?

Use Book Review Digest or Book Review Index. Both are located in the McCarthy Reference Center on the First Floor. Many reviews also appear in the full-text databases such as ProQuest, EBSCOHost and JSTOR. Ask a Reference Librarian for assistance.

 

Does the library have this journal?

On the library web page click on the Journal Finder link for holdings in paper or electronically available. Type in the name of the periodical you are looking for. If we have the issue you want in paper, write down the call number. Then, find the journal on the shelf downstairs (for bound periodicals) or in the Siena Alumni Association Current Periodicals Room (for current issues, before they are bound). (Note: some journals are on microfilm). For electronic issues follow the links. Ask a Reference Librarian for assistance.

 

I can't find this journal on the shelf. Where else could it be?

It could be in the following places: on shelves or tables by the photocopy machines; at the bindery; or shelved in the wrong place. Ask someone at Reference or Circulation if you cannot find what you need.

 

How can I find statistics on...?

A good starting place is Statistical Abstract of the United States or visit our Libguide on Finding Statistics. There are also statistical sources in economics in Reference sections HA-HC; and social sciences Reference sections HM-HX. 

 

Where are the encyclopedias?

Many general and subject-specific encyclopedias are in the Reference area in the classification area A. 

 

Can I find copies of my textbooks in the library?

The library does not order textbooks as a rule. Some professors may put a copy on reserve.

 

Can I access CYRIL (library catalog) from my home/office/dorm?

Yes. Go to the Library Web Page and click on the CYRIL. The online databases are available both on and off campus.

 

Can I access the library databases when I am off campus?

The library's online databases are available both on and off-campus for members of the Siena community.  When you click on the database from a location off-campus you will be prompted for your login credentials. Enter the same student ID and password that you use when you login to a Siena computer to access the Siena network.

Reference

Visit the Reference Services page for more information.

 

Contact Information

Kelly MacWatters
Coordinator of Reference & Electronic
Resources
(518) 783-2588
kmacwatters@siena.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip