This is the "McNaughton Collection" page of the "McNaughton Collection and Popular Reading Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

McNaughton Collection and Popular Reading Guide   Tags: best sellers, book reviews, fiction, fun reading, mcnaughton, new york state, reading clubs  

Popular Titles
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2014 URL: http://siena.libguides.com/mcnaughton Print Guide RSS Updates

McNaughton Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Coming Soon!

Look for these titles in the McNaughton Collection sometime soon!

Cover Art
Vanessa and Her Sister - Priya Parmar
ISBN: 9780804176378
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
A devoted, emotionally intense portrait of the Bloomsbury group focuses in particular on sisters Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf, whose complicated relationship is tested to the breaking point by their competing affections for two men. - Kirkus

Cover Art
Moriarty - Anthony Horowitz
ISBN: 9780062377180
Publication Date: 2014-12-09
Pinkerton detective agent Frederick Chase and Scotland Yard Inspector Athelney Jones...track down the late Moriarty's dangerous...as they seek the truth behind the Reichenbach Falls catastrophe that sent both Moriarty and Sherlock Holmes...to their deaths.- Brodart

Cover Art
Flesh and Blood - Patricia Cornwell
ISBN: 9780062325341
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
Scarpetta's Miami birthday trip will have to wait. Seven strange pennies near her Cambridge house and a nearby high school music teacher's shocking death give Dr. Kay Scarpetta a birthday present she will never forget when a music teacher is mysteriously shot to death while unloading groceries. - Brodart

Cover Art
Revival - Stephen King
ISBN: 9781476770383
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
Irresistible new minister Charles Jacobs and his stunning wife make their mark on a local church while the charismatic preacher forges a unique bond with a boy named Jamie Morton, but catastrophe soon banishes Charles from the town. - Brodart

Cover Art
The Paying Guests - Sarah Waters
ISBN: 9781594633119
Publication Date: 2014-09-16
Tempers flare and passions ignite when a poor widow and her spinster daughter welcome a young 'clerk class' couple into their large, empty home in 1922 London. -Brodart

Cover Art
Wolf in White Van - John Darnielle
ISBN: 9780374292089
Publication Date: 2014-09-16
A man badly disfigured in a gun accident ponders gaming, heavy metal, family, love and the crazed emotions that tend to surround our obsessions. -from Kirkus Review

Cover Art
The Secret Place - Tana French
ISBN: 9780670026326
Publication Date: 2014-09-02
'I KNOW WHO KILLED HIM.' The photo of a murdered boy with a chilling caption reopens a stalled case when a teenager shows Detective Stephen Moran the picture she found pinned to a special board reserved for the St. Kilda's School girls' anonymous secrets. Now Stephen must team with the difficult Detective Antoinette Conway to find a boy's killer in Dublin. - Brodart

Cover Art
A Song for Issy Bradley - Carys Bray
ISBN: 9780553390889
Publication Date: 2014-08-12
Tragedy tears a faithful family apart as the Bradleys head down radically different roads that bring revelation about faith, doubt, and what it really means to be a family. -Brodart

 

New in Nonfiction

Cover Art
The Pope and Mussolini - David I. Kertzer
ISBN: 0812993462
The Pope and Mussolini tells the story of two men who came to power in 1922, and together changed the course of twentieth-century history. In most respects, they could not have been more different. One was scholarly and devout, the other thuggish and profane. Yet Pius XI and “Il Duce” had many things in common. They shared a distrust of democracy and a visceral hatred of Communism. Both were prone to sudden fits of temper and were fiercely protective of the prerogatives of their office. (“We have many interests to protect,” the Pope declared, soon after Mussolini seized control of the government in 1922.) Each relied on the other to consolidate his power and achieve his political goals. -from Amazon

Cover Art
Virtual Unreality - Charles Seife
ISBN: 9780670026081
When a story goes viral online, it may be hard to separate fact from fiction. Here, readers discover how to spot the truth among the lies in topics ranging from online breaking news to online dating. -Brodart

 

Search the Library Catalog

This unique print collection is aimed at offering the faculty, staff and students at Siena a variety of  current and popular titles which cover a wide range of genres including, but not limited to, literary fiction, science fiction, fantasy, mystery, and romance. There is even a few young adult titles thrown in there. We also wanted to make sure that we included a small selection of non-fiction to choose from like biographies, histories, and social commentaries for the those who prefer to "keep it real!"

Our collection contains approximately 200 books which will be periodically rotated out and augmented with about 15 new titles each semester.

For a complete list of all the titles in the Standish Library's McNaughton Collection, visit the Library Catalog and search for "McNaughton" in the note field.

CYRIL

Feedback? Let me know!

Profile Image
Kari Kakeh
Contact Info
Send Email
Title:
Circulation Supervisor
 

Featured New Arrivals - Fiction

Cover Art
The Midnight Plan of the Repo Man - W. Bruce Cameron
ISBN: 9780765377487
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
Repossessing cars and working at the bar his sister inherited is going just fine for former college football star Ruddy McCann until he starts hearing a voice in his head. When Ruddy learns that the woman he is falling on love with might be none other than the daughter of the man in his head, Ruddy sets out to solve the twisted mystery of 'Alan Lottner' once and for all. -Brodart

Cover Art
Stone Mattress - Margaret Atwood
ISBN: 9780385539128
A familiar voice from beyond helps a widowed fantasy writer make it through a hard winter's night in 'Alphinland,' while a woman born with a genetic anomaly desperately tries to prove she is not a vampire in 'Lusus Naturae.' Nine twisted tales reveal the stranger side of life in this dark short story collection. - Brodart

Cover Art
Neverhome - Laird Hunt
ISBN: 9780316370134
A farmer's wife dons a uniform and fights her way into history as readers meet so-called Ash Thompson, a woman who leaves her husband and disguises herself as a man to fight in the Civil War. - Brodart

Cover Art
The Silkworm - Robert Galbraith
ISBN: 9780316206877
Mrs. Quine is used to her novelist husband, Owen Quine, wandering off only to show up days later, but detective Cormoran Strike finds something far more sinister afoot when he seeks the woman's missing husband and finds the man brutally murdered just as the novelist was preparing to publish a piece filled with scandalous truths about those who knew Owen best. Cormoran must race the clock to understand the merciless killer's motives. - Brodart

Cover Art
Leaving Time - Jodi Picoult
ISBN: 9780345544926
Thirteen-year-old Jenna's search for her missing mother, a scientist known for her work studying grief in elephants before she vanished 10 years ago, teams Jenna with psychic Serenity Jones and detective Virgil Stanhope as the three seek answers about Jenna's missing mother and its potential connection to the death of one of the woman's co-workers. -Brodart

Cover Art
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage - Haruki Murakami; Philip Gabriel (Translator)
ISBN: 9780385352109
Persuaded by an older woman to determine the reason his close group of high school friends suspiciously abandoned him after his first year of college, Tsukuru Tazaki sets out on a journey to find the friends he thought he knew and the man he is meant to be. -Brodart

Cover Art
Rogues - George R. R. Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780345537263
Forget honor and check your trust at the door as bestselling authors George R. R. Martin, Neil Gaiman, and others contribute original tales about various rogues and their devious plans in an anthology featuring various genres and a new Song of Fire and Ice tale. Some authors stick with their tried and true genres, while others take a different approach. - Brodart

Cover Art
Personal - Lee Child
ISBN: 9780804178747
The moment Jack Reacher gets you in his sights, you had better pray you are ready for what comes next. Join Reacher as he takes on his latest adversary. - Brodart

Cover Art
Shopaholic to the Stars - Sophie Kinsella
ISBN: 9780812993868
Dreams come with a price when aspiring celebrity stylist Becky Bloomwood and her daughter head to Los Angeles with Becky's husband, Luke, who is managing famed actress Sage Seymour when Becky lands a job for one of Seymour's greatest rivals. Now Becky must choose between her heart's desires and the feelings of those she holds most dear. - Brodart

Cover Art
The Kept - James Scott
ISBN: 0062236733
In the winter of 1897, a trio of killers descends upon an isolated farm in upstate New York. Midwife Elspeth Howell returns home to the carnage: her husband, and four of her children, murdered. Before she can discover her remaining son Caleb, alive and hiding in the kitchen pantry, another shot rings out over the snow-covered valley. Twelve-year-old Caleb must tend to his mother until she recovers enough for them to take to the frozen wilderness in search of the men responsible. -from Amazon

 

Featured New Arrivals - Young Adult

Cover Art
Burn - Julianna Baggott
ISBN: 9781455502998
As the trilogy reaches its climax, Partridge faces conflicting emotions as he stands in his father's place, leading the Pures inside the Dome. While his father longed to destroy the Dome from the inside with Partridge's old teacher's help, Partridge reconsiders what the Dome really needs from him. Meanwhile, Pressia and Bradwell continue their quest to escape oppression, but the only one who can help them could be someone they no longer trust. -Brodart

Cover Art
Hollow City - Ransom Riggs
ISBN: 1594746125
Escaping the island was just the start of their bizarre journey. Jacob and his friends meet strange animals and even stranger surprises as they welcome new allies and make for a capital known for a most peculiar capital: London. A new set of vintage photographs illustrate the journey in this sequel to 'Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.' - Brodart

Cover Art
Roomies - Sara Zarr; Tara Altebrando
ISBN: 9780316217491
Sometimes the perfect friend is a perfect stranger. As soon-to-be college roommates Elizabeth and Lauren face changing childhood relationships and family crises, the two assigned college roommates share e-mails to guid each other through the worst of the drama-filled summer before they head off to college in this dual perspective novel. - Brodart

Cover Art
Far Far Away - Tom McNeal
ISBN: 0375849726
Jeremy Johnson Johnson hears voices. Or, specifically, one voice: the ghost of Jacob Grimm, one half of The Brothers Grimm. Jacob watches over Jeremy, protecting him from an unknown dark evil whispered about in the space between this world and the next. But Jacob can't protect Jeremy from everything. When coltish, copper-haired Ginger Boultinghouse takes a bite of a cake so delicious it’s rumored to be bewitched, she falls in love with the first person she sees: Jeremy. In any other place, this would be a turn for the better for Jeremy, but not in Never Better, where the Finder of Occasions—whose identity and evil intentions nobody knows—is watching and waiting, waiting and watching. . . And as anyone familiar with the Brothers Grimm know, not all fairy tales have happy endings.-from Amazon

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip