This is the "Web Resources" page of the "Image, Sound and Film Files" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Image, Sound and Film Files  

There are free web resources that contain files in various medium for general, multi- or interdisciplinary use.
Last Updated: Feb 1, 2013 URL: http://siena.libguides.com/content.php?pid=425958 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Web Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Web Resources

Image Files

General

American Institute of Graphic Design (AIGA)
American Memory Project (Library of Congress)--link takes you to a list of collections that contain photographs
Getty Images
Digital Librarian--the "Images" section
Google Images
Life Magazine Photo Archives
National Portrait Gallery
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
10 ways to find free images

**Remember to also use the database ArtStor

United States

American Geological Society Library--grant from NEH, contains images from the 1930s & 1940s
National Archives
NPR: The Picture Show--a photo blog

Subject Specific Image Files

Cartoon Image Database--from the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum, The Ohio State University
Siena College CDLC (Captial District Library Council) Digital Image Collection--contains images of Siena College and documents held in the Standish Library special collections.
New York State Archives image files

Sound Files 

Global Music Archive--collaboration between the Blair School of Music and University Libraries at Vanderbilt University.

Petrucci Music Library--wiki based respository aimed at creating a virtual library of all public domain musical scores as well from composers who elect to contribute their musicNational Jukebox--over 10,000 recordings from the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.  From the Library of Congress.

Sibley Music Library: Musical Scores--includes all content from Smithsonian Global Sound as well.

New York State Archives audio files
 

Film Files

General

Academic Film Archive of North America--freely available academic and documentary films of historic significance.
C-SPAN Video Library
--videos (1990-present) of state and federal politics, campaigns, news conferences, foreign affairs, business, education, health, technology
FedFlix--U.S. Government Films created over the past 70 years on a wide variety of topics
Internet Moving Image Archive
Moving Image Source

Subject Specific Film Files

Europa Film Treasures--51 films dating mostly from pre-1940s depicting European cultural heritage
Film Noir Foundation
UCLA Preserved Silent Animation--silent films from pre-1930s
New York State Archives film files

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip