This is the "Home" page of the "E-books at Siena" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-books at Siena   Tags: e-books  

Standish Library offers e-books from several different publishers. This page is intended to introduce and explain the different e-book options that you will come across when searching library resources.
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2014 URL: http://siena.libguides.com/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E-book Collections at Siena

EBL (ConnectNY)

EBSCO e-book Collection

MyiLibrary (from Coutts)

Wiley Online Library

Each collection varies in terms of usage, printing and access capabilities.  See the collection specific information for futher details.

 

Featured e-book

Cover Art
The Aesthetics of Wine - Hugh D. Brunham; Ole M. Skilleas; Douglas Burnham
ISBN: 9781444337662
Publication Date: 2012-08-21
e-book available from EBL via CYRIL

 

What is an e-book?

An e-book, short for electronic book, is a book in digital format.  Some books are born digital (where never in print previously) and others are digital copies of the print format.  E-books have grown steadily in numbers and preference with the advance of gadgets that are used to read the e-book in our increasing digital age.

Siena College offers e-books from several providers, all of which are located in our catalog, CYRIL and/or directly searchable via the provider's platform.  Click here to see a complete listing of all e-books found in CYRIL.

Searching is available via Saint Search or our classic catalog

 

E-book records in CYRIL

 

Each e-book available at Siena has a record in CYRIL.  There are ways to tell if an item is an e-book or a print book:

  • The catalog image associated with all e-books is:
  • After the title of the book, the phrase 'electronic resource' will follow.
  • There will be a link to click on in the record that will take you to the book
    • Each collection of e-books will have a different display of the link, see the Collections tab to get collection-specific information.  

  

 

Search the Library Catalog

CYRIL

Subject Guide

Alison Larsen
Contact Info
Standish Library
518-782-6765
Send Email
 

Off-campus access

The use of e-books is available off-campus for members of the Siena Community.  Once you have located a book in the catalog, click on the appropriate link to get to the e-book platform.  Before you land at the platform you will be prompted for your login credentials (the same login used for the computers on-campus).  Enter your credentials and you should then pass through to your desired e-book.  **The NetLibrary collection is different.  See collection information on how to access these titles off-campus.**

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip